Home : : News : : IoM & WCB Livery Celebrate Industry’s Finest at the IoM Annual Prize-giving



IoM & WCB Livery Celebrate Industry’s Finest at the IoM Annual Prize-giving

23/2/2017 Posted in: General News
Over a hundred guests gathered yesterday at the Tallow Chandlers Hall, London, for the IoM's annual Prize-Giving, which has been awarding individual achievement for more than 25 years. The event celebrates the achievements of butchers, their employers and training providers nationwide. Twelve awards were given in total to prize-winners from a range of industry backgrounds. The prize-winners were:
  • Best New Apprentice Progressing on a Trailblazer Standard – Samuel Deighton – Plumpton College
  • Best Retail Butchery Student – Tara Davies – Crosby Butchery Training
  • Best Meat Processing Student – Daniel Turley – Crosby Butchery Training
  • Best Poultry Industry Student – Rui Pedro Gomes Sousa- Poultec
  • Best Independent Retail Meat Apprentice – Martin Naan – Southern Regional College
  • Best Meat Manufacturing Apprentice – William Pountney – Shropshire Training Ltd
  • Best Full-Time Professional Butchery Student – Kyle Fisher – Southern Regional College
  • Meat Apprentice Showing Most Management Promise Matthew Smith – Plumpton College
  • Best Company Training Scheme – Dunbia
  • Best Meat Training Provider of the Year – Crosby Butchery Training
  • Lord Graham Endeavour Award – Harry Clarke – Meat (Ipswich) Ltd
  • Champion Meat Apprentice of the Year – Samuel Deighton – Plumpton College
The overall winner, Sam Deighton, of Plumpton College, said of his achievement, ‘I have worked really hard, putting in lots of extra research into butchery at home. To see this recognised by the Institute of Meat means the world to me. I’m very proud not only to achieve this award but also just to be a butcher. I intend to go as far as I can in my profession.’ The day recognised the expertise and commitment of experienced butchers too, with 11 professional butchers being awarded IoM Accredited Master Butcher status. They were: From Booker Cash and Carry
  • Eamonn Nash
  • Mark Rogers
  • Kevin Hawkins
  • David Munden
  • Alan Cox
  • James Doherty
  • Shaun Stockhill
  • Scott Robertson
From Dunbia
  • Steven Dobson
  • Richard Jones
From Crosby Management Training
  • Kevin Meades
Alan Cox, (MB.Inst.M) from Booker commented, ‘It’s an enormous honour to be here today and to become an IoM accredited Master Butcher. My butchery career has spanned 41 years and I’m delighted to be able to pass on my skills learnt over that time to the next generation of butchers.’ Other awards presented on the day were,
  • The Gary Baker Award presented to
    • Helen Whalley from Harper Adams University
  • Fellowship of the Institute of Meat presented to
    • Dr Phil Hadley, for his contribution to the meat industry over many years.
For more information about the Prize-giving, or how to nominate a student, employee, or company for next years prize giving, please email or visit instituteofmeat.org